Corporal Rohan James was returned as the chairman of the central executive committee of the Jamaica Police Federation (JPF) in Wednesday night’s elections.


James received the nod to lead the representational body for rank and file members of the Jamaica Constabulary Force at the end of an election exercise that was the culmination of the two-day joint central conferences of the JPF at the Ocean Spring Hotel in Falmouth, Trelawny.


“I am humbled by the fact that my peers have seen it fit to vest confidence and trust in my capabilities to carry out and conduct their business,” he said After being announced as the chairman.


James said his immediate plans include the finalization of the issues surrounding the proposed public sector compensation review. He also said that he intends to complete several projects throughout the year, such as the completion of a digital-based system to accept, track and manage welfare applications by members of the Constabulary.


“ …a number of projects are on stream and I do intend to complete them this tenure,” he said.


Also elected to serve on the executive were Corporal Arleen McBean (who is set to act as General Secretary), Detective Woman Sergent Tameca Thomas, Sergeant Lloyd Duncan and Constables Koy Marriott and Nigel Murphy. Woman Inspectors Blanche Codner and Jacqueline Brown complete the eight-member board.


A creature of the Constabulary Force Act, the Jamaica Police Federation is tasked to bring matters affecting the welfare and efficiency of the Constabulary to the Commissioner of Police and the Minister of National Security. It represents the rank and file members of the Constabulary—Constables, Corporals, Sergeants and Inspectors.